E kore tātau e mōhio ki te waitohu nui o te wai kia mimiti rawa te puna.
We never know the worth of water until the well runs dry 

- Te Wharehuia Milroy (Ngāi Tūhoe)


At the IFLA World Library Congress in July 2022, Michael Peter Edson, a digital cultural strategist challenged library and information professionals to take action on climate change. “We can all sit back and tread water and think about difficult ideas but as soon as you decide as an individual or a workgroup or an institution to say something in public it is a completely different game. Working in safe, slow incremental ways will not enable us to get over this Big Frikin’ Wall”.

The LIANZA Standing Committee on Climate Action was established in June 2023, responding to the scale of the climate crisis and the need to demonstrate leadership and provide guidance to the sector.

Library and information professionals have a vital role to play in the climate crisis, encouraging communities to learn, discuss and take action.


  • Research, write and recommend policy statements, submissions and external messages for LIANZA. Inform and support members through statements, resources, advocacy and advice, and encourage them to take part in climate action.
  • Encourage discussion and inform our profession via LIANZA publications, social media, presentations, conferences and webinars.
  • Learn from and contribute to international discourse via IFLA and other international library associations.
  • Liaise with other organisations working in the climate change space in Aotearoa to learn about key campaigns or areas of work underway, and  identify opportunities to partner together.


Email: or contact LIANZA:

Current members of the committee

  • Alexis McCullough, Te Kaunihera o Tāmaki Makaurau | Auckland Libraries
  • Kākahu Ethan Banks, Central Otago and Queenstown Libraries
  • Jane Clark, Te Putanga ki te ao Mātauranga | Massey University Library
  • Rob Cruickshank, Te Whare Wānanga o Waitaha | University of Canterbury
  • Sarah Jordan, Ngā Puna Mātauranga o Te Awa Kairangi ki Uta | Upper Hutt Libraries
  • Justine Lester, Tasman District Libraries
  • Marion Read, Te Kahui Kaunihera ō Aotearoa | Local Government New Zealand
  • Kay Stodart, Porirua City Libraries